We didn’t quite jell…

Fabiana and I went grocery shopping in Tengelmann last night, and I found something that surprised me a little bit: Jell-O cups.  They weren’t Jell-O brand, of course (Dr. Oetker brand Götter Speise, actually), but really, gelatin is gelatin.  I was tickled by this, and bought four cups.  Fabiana, on the other hand, was a little bit horrified, particularly when I suggested she try one.  She said she’d wait until I’d eaten one and see if I was still alive.  We ended up having a lively debate over the pros and cons of gelatin in the dairy section, much to the amusement of an elderly lady shopping for cheese.  Fabiana argued that the gelatin was made from chemicals, and was therefore unhealthy, and icky to boot.  My argument was that it was only sugar, water and gelatin (which is a natural product), and was therefore no worse for you than the average sweet snack.  In point of fact, it’s actually healthy in some ways.  Eating gelatin products strengthens your bones, teeth, and fingernails.  At any rate, we had to agree to disagree, so now I’ll let the majority rule, democratic-like.  Please do me the honor of participating in my first blog poll.  Gelatin: good or evil?  Cast your vote below, and Fabiana and I will “crow or eat crow” depending on the results.  Make your voice heard!

4 Responses to “We didn’t quite jell…”

  1. shadylabartram Says:

    When I was younger my mom and I used to make Jell-O jiggilers and we’d spend all day cookie cutting and and refrigerating and sneaking peaks into the fridge to see if they were done. It’s one of my favorite memories.

    As Joey, from F.R.I.E.N.D.S so plainly puts “There’s always room for Jell-O”

  2. Uncle Bob Says:

    Bea – Just getting caught up on your comments. Aunt Lane and I perfectly understand not fitting into the loud bar scene but not liking beans, now that’s weird. I didn’t know that was allowed in the “Curry Clan” 🙂

    Hope all is going well – we’re headed to Florida next week; though we should have gone a week ago. Our temperatures have been plummeting to -15 at night and not reaching zero in the day. Hopefully that will be ending soon.

    Love you
    Uncle Bob and Aunt Elaine

  3. bumble525 Says:

    shadylabartram~ Welcome to The Gumball Machine! Thanks for the support. 🙂

    Uncle Bob~ I know. Mom and dad have at various times informed me that I am neither Curry nor McNew because of my picky eating habits. 🙂

    Yikes! Glad it’s not that cold in Munich, but I’ve heard snow is forecast for Sunday. Have fun in Florida!

  4. A Fortnight and a Half of Miscellanea « The Gumball Machine Says:

    […] The Gumball Machine You have to put something in to get something out, and you won't always get what you expect. « We didn’t quite jell… […]

Leave a Reply

