Deutsch Hilarity

Last night a fellow commenter on Dave Barry’s Blog asked me, “Bumble, is it true, what Mark Twain said about German?”  I had no idea what he was talking about, so I googled Mark Twain and German, and I found this. I read about half of it last night, and I was laughing so hard that my sides hurt and I had tears in my eyes.  It probably won’t seem as funny to those of you who haven’t studied German, but Anwyn, Dad and Meanie the Blue should enjoy it, if they haven’t already read it.  As I assured my acquaintance last night, it is absolutely true.  Twain was brilliant.

6 Responses to “Deutsch Hilarity”

  1. Yusuf Says:

    Mark Twain complaining about German. He should have tried his hand on Russian, which has 6 cases for nouns and 6 for adjectives (compared to the German 4) which change according to both gender (male, female, and neutral) and number. That is to say you have to memorize 19 possible endings for nouns and adjectives. To make matters worse, the endings sometimes overlap.

  2. thelmajoy Says:

    That is why only smart people learn Russian. And Russians. : ) Good to hear from you, Yusuf. Hope all is well. We should all get together when Beatrice returns to the USA.

  3. Bumble Says:

    I might not come back. I think if I really want to learn German, I’m gonna have to stay for a year. 🙂

    Yeah, German also has the three noun genders plus plural which, combined with the four cases, sentence structure and a million different other factors, change the adjective and article endings. Are the prepositions and verbs tied to different cases in Russian like they are in German? And does Russian have a separate set of personal pronouns for each case? How many different ways can you say “the” in Russian? I count at least 7 in German, but there may be more.

  4. Bobbie Says:

    Hi, Bea,

    Just popping in to see how you’re doing! I love your daily journal. What was the general reaction in Munich regarding the “wall coming down” anniversary?

    We are enjoying such balmy weather here. Del walked down to our garden and was surprised to find a humongous cauliflower willing and eager to join us “for dinner.” Heh heh. (the short sweet life of Mr. Cauliflower)

    So, what are your favorite German foods so far, besides the pastries?
    Have you tried to buy clothes yet? Or shoes? The sizes are really interesting to figure out. Or maybe you’ve already done that. You’re a smart kid! Have fun and keep smiling!

    Love,
    Bobbie

    “You can do more than pray after you have prayed, but you cannot do more than pray until you have prayed.” A. J. Gordon

  5. Bumble Says:

    Bobbie~ I’m not sure what the reaction was; I seem to have missed that particular holiday. No one said anything about it in school.

    The weather here is pretty cold; I doubt a cauliflower would have survived this long in a Munich garden. Glad you enjoyed one, though. 🙂

    I couldn’t really nail down a “favorite” food yet, but everything I’ve had so far has been good. I had some veal the other day that was tasty, and I also tried a dish of turkey in a creamy cheese sauce with little potato cakes similar to hash browns. Also good. Heavy, but good. 🙂

    As far as shopping, I haven’t needed to buy clothes or shoes; I pretty much brought everything I’d need with me. But should I need to do that, I have a handy little German phrase book that also has a conversion chart for clothing and shoe sizes, so that should help.

  6. FYI « The Gumball Machine Says:

    […] I’d like.  Three months probably won’t be either (one requires 30 years according to Mark Twain), but I’m going to run out of money eventually.  The more I learn, the more I realize how […]

Leave a Reply

