This one’s for mommy…

…and for my former employers and colleagues at Garden Gate.  I took an interest in some of the trees lining the streets on my way to school, and I snapped a few pictures of them this morning.  One looks like a Bradford-type pear (an ornamental tree), but it has tiny little pears about 1 1/2 inches long under it!  I didn’t think ornamental pear trees bore fruit.  Am I wrong, or is this a totally different type of pear tree?

There are also a bunch of really tall trees lining Lindwurmstrasse that have been pruned and trained to grow very straight and tall.  I think they’re Linden trees, but I’m not sure.  Am I right?

7 Responses to “This one’s for mommy…”

  1. tc k Says:

    OK, at first glance, i though that last one was a pot plant

  2. Bumble Says:

    Nah, it’s a shoot coming off the tree. Only leaves close enough to the ground that I could take a picture.

  3. southerngirl Says:

    oh, please, that doesn’t look anything like…

    that is, from what i’ve heard…

    look, something shiny!

    *wonders what happened to TCK’s capital letters*

  4. Bumble Says:

    I confiscated them.

  5. TCK Says:

    OK, i did say “at first glance”

    and i used lowercase letters in order to be incognito

    thanks for blowing my cover!!

  6. Bobbie Says:

    Hi, Bea,

    This is a first for me. I haven’t ever “blogged” or visited a Web site like this. I enjoyed reading all your journal entries, though! It sounds as if you are fitting in very well. So, almost 40 years later, and Europe still serves colas/water/beer at room temperature!!! Yuk! I remember the shock of that. (If you ask for “ice,” you get ice cream, right?) But, you mentioned a McDonald’s. Do they offer ice?Probably best to stick to bottled water, btw. I’ll ask Del to look at the photos of the trees, ok?

    Oh, yes, indeed, I do remember the pastries, and all the other fabulous food in Germany! Lucky you!!!!! What an adventure you are on! God bless!

    Love,
    Bobbie

  7. Bumble Says:

    Hey Bobbie! Glad you came. Tell Del I said hi. Yes, it’s a bit of a culture shock, but it helped that I was prepared for it from having been here before and having a German professor who was actually German. 🙂

Leave a Reply

